

## The Kerry Blue Terrier at Montgomery County Kennel Club

The United States Kerry Blue Terrier Club currently holds its national specialty at the Montgomery County Kennel Club Show, but that has not always been the case. There have been times it was a supported entry, and if you go back far enough, it was just like any other show.

The statistics show a range of entries, from 1929 with just one Kerry entered, (*Sheephead Lad*), to 1991 when there were 157 Kerries exhibited.

The MCKC show catalogue was just fifty cents in 1929. As you may know, that price, like everything else, has gone up. Catalogues are now \$20.

In 1929 the show was held at the Fort Side Inn in Fort Washington, PA. The show has moved several times, notably in 1967 to the estate of G. Harrison Frazier, Jr. in Gwynedd Valley, then to the Penllyn Club and in 1972 to Temple University. As of 2005 the show has been held at Montgomery County Community College in Bluebell, PA.

Through the years, the average number of Kerries entered has been 92. A Kerry has won BIS four times.

1948 - Blucote Deirde O'Ker-Wel-Aire, 1956- Ch. Tailteann's Marcie's Son 2000 & 2001 - Ch Torums Scarf Michael. The Scottish Terrier (12 times), followed by the Airedale (7 times) and the Wire Fox (6 times), Welsh and Lakeland are often in the wins.

(More information will be added, as it becomes available. If you can fill in any of the blanks, please contact the <u>website editor</u>.)

			Montgomery
	Total		County KC
Year	Kerries	Judge	Show
2011	93	Michelle Billings	National Specialty
2010	118	Mrs. Robert S. Forsyth	National Specialty
2009	84	Edd Embry Bivin	National Specialty
2008	116	Ms Mareth Kipp	National Specialty
2007	128	John Weatherhead	National Specialty
2006	94	Nolan Dale	National Specialty
2005	121	Paul Martin	National Specialty
2004	118	Ron Ramsay	National Specialty
2003	117	Scott Kellogg	National Specialty
2002	96	Bert Tormey	National Specialty
2001	116	Rhonda M. Davis	National Specialty
2000	123	Ken McDermott	National Specialty
1999	116	Anne Katona	National Specialty
1998	124	Edith M. Izant	National Specialty
1997	145	R. Steven Shaw	National Specialty
1996	111	Billie Kneale	National Specialty
1995	151	Louis Auslander	National Specialty
1994	146	Edd Embry Bivin	National Specialty
1993	150	Jon R. Cole	National Specialty
1992	154	Roy Holloway	National Specialty
1991	157	Langdon L Skarda	National Specialty
1990	148	Lydia C. Hutchinson	National Specialty
1989	142	Anne Katona	National Specialty
1988	150	Mrs. Victor Olmos-Ollivier	National Specialty
1987			
1986			
1985	92	Bert Tormey	National Specialty
1984	89	Mrs. Heywood R. Hartley	National Specialty
1983	72	Phyllis H Haage	National Specialty
1982	74	Barbara W. Keenan	National Specialty
1981	65	Edith M. Izant	National Specialty
1980	24	Robert C Jacques	Supported Entry
1979	36	Mrs. Stephen L Dowell	
1978	35	Edith M. Izant	
1977			
1976	37	Fred A. Young	
1975	31	James G Reynolds	
1974	54	James R. Christ	National Specialty
1973	29	John W. Hillman	
1972	20	Mrs. Duncan H. Henderson	
1971			
1970			
1969	24	Charles W. Marck	
1967	55	Heywood R. Hartley	National Specialty
1929	1	Jeremiah J. O'Callaghan	